Here are the Windows Developer Awards winners from Build 2017

Arif Bacchus

Last week at Build 2017, Microsoft presented a select group of Windows developers with a special set of awards aimed at celebrating their outstanding work and creativity. As we previously covered, the first ever Windows Developer Awards included five areas: Ninja Cat of the Year, App Creators of the Year, Game Creator of the Year, Reality Mixer of the Year, and Core Marker of the Year. Microsoft has just updated their dedicated Developer Awards website with a list of winners, so we’re giving you a look at the lucky winners below.

Ninja Cat of the Year: Kophosight: What originally started as a school project has now become something much larger. Kophosight is driven by a desire to make everyday life better for the deaf. Built on the Universal Windows Platform using Unity, with Microsoft HoloLens as the centerpiece, Kophosight translates the spoken word into sign language.

App Creator of the Year: djay Pro: Algoriddim’s award-winning DJ application with over 30 million downloads is now on Windows. djay Pro provides a complete toolkit for DJs of all skill levels with features built specifically for Windows 10 including: touch + desktop devices

Game Creators of the Year: Astroneer: Astroneer is set during a 25th century gold rush where players must explore the frontiers of outer space, risking their lives and resources in harsh environments for the chance of striking it rich

Reality Mixer of the Year: MyLab: MyLab is an educational tool that lets users explore an interactive periodic table of the elements using the power of holograms. Spawn atoms, view their structures, and explore similarities and differences between different elements.

Core Maker of the Year: Nova Underwater ROV: This underwater Remotely Operated Vehicle (ROV) is run by Raspberry PI 3 with Windows 10 IoT Core controlled from a UWP app connected to motor controllers, servos and sensors.

The winners of these awards, with the exception of the Ninja Cat of the Year, were all chosen by the developer community. With a list of winners this impressive, it wil be exciting to see which developers will make it to the list next year.